Twitter for Beginners – Part 3

Following and Followers

It’s estimated that 70% of people who sign up for Twitter abandon it because they did not select interesting people to follow and to converse with.

It is said that you need to be following in order to get followers*.

When I started, the first thing I did was start following the people my friends and colleagues followed.  You can do this by clicking on their Twitter ID and then clicking on their “followers” (on the right in the sidebar).

Sadly, the worst people to follow are other Business Partners, because most of them don’t Tweet.

*So I’d amend to read “you need to be following and participating in discussions to get followers.”

I discuss a lot of things on Twitter:  marketing, social media, football, TV, reading, etc.  When I see someone Tweet about something I’m interested in, I try to jump in.  It’s the small talk that leads to more meaningful conversations.  It’s the more meaningful conversations that lead to relationships, recommendations, collaboration, and most importantly networking in real life (IRL).

When I first began on Twitter, I looked for publications and media outlets and found local and national news, Entrepreneur Magazine, Inc. Magazine, Harvard Business Journal, and many more.  From these follows, I read many Tweets from them that were worth retweeting (RT).

I then started following people who were interested in marketing.  I started with people I knew and knew of – like John Jantsch.

On Fridays there is a Twitter tradition of Follow Friday (#FF or #FollowFriday).  These can be a rich and helpful source of people to follow.  Sometimes folks will just have a list of IDs, others will have just one ID and a reason they follow.  I do both.

I read my Tweets carefully, and when someone who I followed RT’d someone else, I’d go take a look at their profile, and if they seemed interesting, followed them.  TweetDeck makes this easy to do – when you click on someone’s ID it will bring up their profile and their last few Tweets. At the bottom there is a follow button you can click on.

Not everyone that you follow will follow you back.  Don’t worry about it.  Engaging in the conversation is what is going to drive more people to follow you.  I usually see an uptick in followers when 1) I am Tweeting a lot, 2) When I send out Tweets with links to my blog, 3) When someone RTs one of my Tweets and 4) as a result of being included on a #FF Tweet.

The key take away here is that you can’t just follow a bunch of people, log off, and return a few days later expecting to see an increase in the number of people following you.  You need to engage.  You need to join the conversation and share.

Twitter for Beginners – Part 1 http://is.gd/aX1a7

Twitter for Beginners – Part 2  http://is.gd/aX1kh

Twitter for Beginners – Part 4 http://is.gd/aX2bu

Twitter for Beginners – Part 5  http://is.gd/aX2UB

Twitter for Beginners – Part 6 http://is.gd/bagLx

