That’s Entertainment!

I was watching the Winter Olympics with my cousins years ago, men’s figure skating, when Steve blurted out, “I can’t stand this!  Grown men dressed like Las Vegas show girls!  Bring back barrel jumping!”

I had a similar emotional reaction watching The Who during the Super Bowl half time.  In fact, I almost Tweeted “I can’t stand this!  Bring back marching bands!”  Did you know marching bands were a regular staple up until 1990?  It was then that the NFL went to the ‘big show” encompassing multiple performers with some sort of theme – certainly you remember Winter Magic, no?  What about Heal the World, Rockin’ Country Sunday, or Blues Brothers Bash?

After the 2002 U2 “Tribute to 9/11 Victims” half time concert, which was awesome, the show returned to a format that featured a variety of performers:

2003 – Shania Twain, No Doubt, and Sting

2004 – P Diddy, Nelly, Kid Rock, Justin Timberlake and Janet Jackson (how many of you were as stunned as I was to recall that Justin and Janet weren’t the only performers that year?)

Then came the megashows with a single iconic performer/band:

2005 – Sir Paul McCartney

2006 – The Rolling Stones (I vaguely remember extremely awkward interviews with Jagger and sportscasters this particular Super Bowl…)

2007 – Prince and the Florida A&M marching band (All I can say is thank God he hadn’t written the dreadful “Purple&Gold” at this point!)

2008 – Tom Petty

2009 – Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

2010 – The Who

I don’t blame CBS for lining up The Who to cross promote the CSI franchise (if in fact they did).  But it was painful to watch.  As I tweeted, at least they didn’t have the “faux fans” rockin’ out around the stage.  For some reason, the faux fans stimulate an unwarranted rage in me.

I’m not sure who will be broadcasting Super Bowl 45 (I hate the Roman numerals, probably because I’ve forgotten how they work) but if it’s FOX, don’t be surprised if it isn’t the cast of Glee –  a hipper updated version of the 1986 “Beat of the Future” half time featuring Up With People.

More Half Time history here:  http://is.gd/7UCrG

Award yourself 500 frequent fun points for reading.

