Free Publicity – Effective PR from a journalist’s point of view

The entire program of content was excellent as usual at SLAAA, but I was most impressed by Jeff Crilley, president and CEO of Real News Public Relations www.realnewspr.com.  A copy of Crilley’s book “Free Publicity” was a lagniappe for the SLAAA attendees in Dallas.

I have told many of you the story of my PR days at Lawson.  I was tasked with getting “meaty” articles published on the Lawson solutions.  It’s very difficult to get writers interested when pitching a story on Fixed Assets.  However, when the end user is the LA Dodgers and they use Fixed Assets to track players’ salaries it’s another matter.  Name recognition suddenly made Fixed Assets application software interesting.

Crilley’s book “Free Publicity” is crammed with ideas on how to get press coverage that matters and gives you that “better than money” 3rd Party credibility.

I learned PR from a public relations master – I consider those lessons among the most valuable in my entire career.  How I wish I had Crilley’s book in the early days of my career – for then I would have learned more about PR practice from the other perspective, that of a working journalist.

From the introduction:

By the time you’re finished, you’ll understand why we cover what we do.  You’ll know how to get our attention, when to call and when not to, what to say and how to say it.

You’ll learn how to write a killer press release, how to stage newsworthy events, what to do once the cameras start rolling, and perhaps most importantly, what you can do to keep us coming back for more.

Crilley gives effective, sound advice on the most traditional of marketing strategies, public relations, which in and of itself, can greatly benefit your business.  Couple his strategy with social media and you can conquer the world – or a least the market you serve.

Call to action:

Buy Crilley’s book (I don’t benefit in any way from pimping it.)  http://realnewspr.com/free-publicity

If you are a Sage Business Partner or Certified Consultant; consider joining Sage Leadership Academy.  It gives you the opportunity to interact with thought leaders like Crilley.

If you are SLA Alumni, recommit to attending the events.  We miss you.

