The Books You Love

Library“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen.  The man who never reads lives only one.” – George R. R. Martin

This post was inspired by ‘The Books You’ve Loved the Longest’ over at AV Club

I was thinking about this and it is so very hard to pick – I am thankful for every book that has engrossed and entertained me.

The first time I read through the night was when I was in high school and I read Stephen King’s Carrie.

I book I have reread a couple times is Shogun by James Clavell.  I read Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco as a result of a challenge from a university professor and in spite of a slow start soon I was hooked and consumed by it.

There is a book by a female Canadian author about a fictional female Canadian poet (sadly I can’t remember author and title) that I bought in a bargain book bin at the Minneapolis airport decades ago that I loved, and then lost, and could never track down again.

I’m currently reading Martin’s A Clash of Kings – pacing myself so that I don’t read beyond the HBO Game of Thrones series.

I love anything by Jane Austen and Willa Cather.

I also loved Thomas Harris’s Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal.

(I’m actually willing myself not to go to my many stack/book shelves to scan titles to make this a memory exercise.)

I, Claudius and Claudius the God by Robert Graves were favorites as well.

The Bertie and Jeeves series by P. G. Wodehouse, especially The Code of the Woosters still makes me laugh.

What are your most loved works of fiction?

